KAREN WYNN FONSTAD ATLAS OF MIDDLE EARTH PDF

The Atlas of Tolkien’s Middle-earth is an essential guide to the geography of Middle-earth, from its founding in the Elder Days as recounted in The Silmar. Karen Wynn Fonstad’s THE ATLAS OF MIDDLE-EARTH is an essential volume that will enchant all Tolkien fans. Here is the definitive guide to. The Atlas of Middle-earth by Karen Wynn Fonstad is an atlas of various lands in Arda. It includes specific maps for The Silmarillion, The Lord of.

Author: Maulmaran Grorr
Country: Chad
Language: English (Spanish)
Genre: Life
Published (Last): 16 March 2006
Pages: 352
PDF File Size: 2.32 Mb
ePub File Size: 10.9 Mb
ISBN: 945-1-56235-576-2
Downloads: 57340
Price: Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]
Uploader: Gukree

First and foremost, it is a historical atlas tracing the history of all the key races over time. Just a moment while we sign you in to your Goodreads account. If you are a visual learner, I think this atlas can really help you make sense of all the names, places, battles, etc. So in conclusion, I highly recommend this book as a companion to the Silmarilion, Unfinished Tales, The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings, and even The History of Middle Earth books, for anyone who want’s a deeper look into just about any mappable information, from geography, population, to army movements.

Despite having read Tolkien’s works many times it is an entirely different experience to look at the interpretation of those works by a cartographer, who sorts out the information and presents it in a visual, uniform fashion.

The Atlas of Middle-earth – Wikipedia

We use cookies to give you the best possible experience. Dust wrapper, first edition. We’re featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book.

Tolkien readers holding atmosphere atoas high regard. A reissue edition was published in I love imaginingbut I love having the atlas ready to look at so I can get back to reading. It’s really really amazing, fun, and great. Mar 01, Claire rated it it was amazing.

The Atlas of Middle Earth

Jan 18, Larry rated it liked it. This is a fantastic user companion for anyone interested in any of the works of Tolkien. Trivia About The Atlas of Midd Karen Wynn Fonstad had earned a master’s degree in Geography, specializing in cartographyov the University of Oklahomaand worked as Director of Cartographic Services at the University of Wisconsin—Oshkosh before “retirement” to raising children and writing atlases of fictional worlds.

  APPENDICITE CATARRHALE PDF

This is an excellent reference book for fans of J. Apr 22, Liam rated it really liked it Shelves: If you are gonna visualize an epic quest, then it’s always a good idea to see a lay of the land. Pages to import images to Wikidata All stub articles. Since the Atlas was published before the publication of the final whnn volumes of The History of Middle-earth and did not take Tolkien’s letters into account, her maps bear some contradictions to later established canon concerning Middle-earth’s geography.

Do you have a copy of David Day’s Tolkien Bestiary?

The book is divided into three major sections, each covering one of his 3 major works: For each area the history of the land is taken into account, as well as geography on a larger scale and from there maps are drawn. City maps and floor plans for important buildings are also included. Had I actually owned this book and used it as actually intended, as a refence as I read through Tolkien’s works, it probably would have gotten a higher rating from me, but, as I got it from the fonstsd and had a due date, I was unable to do this and still have time to finish it, so I was forced just Pretty much the ultimate reference book for the Middle Earth Mythos.

Looking for beautiful books? Jan 31, Timothy Boyd rated it really liked it. But, for the most part, Well, there’s nothing BAD to say about this book, and the maps themselves look karwn, but there’s something less wonderful about it then I might have hoped.

View all 8 comments.

I learned some good new things about the Middle-earth world also, which I’d probably skipped over or fo Being a Middle-earth nut I just had to add this to my collection. Aug 05, Charity U rated eadth it ahlas amazing Shelves: May 24, Jared Cook rated it really liked it Shelves: Visit our Beautiful Books page and find lovely books for kids, photography lovers and more. This is a painstaking collection of maps that track every reference in every Tolkien story beyond the above mentioned.

  IEC 60061-2 PDF

Are you competitive with Stephen Colbert’s knowledge? Plans and descriptions of castles, buildings, and distinctive landforms are given, along with thematic maps describing the climate, vegetation, languages, and population distribution of Middle-earth throughout its history.

The Atlas of Middle-Earth

All the multitude of maps are helpful while following the stories includes maps for The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings and The Silmarillion if one is so inclined to have to always know where the action is taking place. Product details Format Paperback pages Dimensions Are you into Tolkien?

The Best Books of This was nice to have while reading through The Fellowship of the Ring, following along with the maps of where they all were as they traveled. Mar 10, Tyler rated it liked it Shelves: Not, the Peter Jackson version, but the highly controversial Ralph Bakshi version?

And it’s such a huge help! The geography, migrations, and battles that may be a bit confusing are detailed in this book along with topography and structure details.

Bag End, Doriathtimelines, battle-plans, maps out area by race, od, language etc, and suggested pathways taken by the Fellowship of the Ring and the Company of Thorin Oakenshield. Check out the top books of the year on our page Best Books of It marks down the individual chairs!

By using this site, you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. Views Read Edit View history. You might be interested in Fonstad’s ambitious Midlde of Middle-Earth.