They are called the Dreamers. They look like sleeping children. They are, in fact, are eight elder Gods, four awake, four asleep, by turns. When t. The first volume of the series, The Elder Gods, is about the invasion of the unsuspecting Zelana’s Domain by the hordes of the Vlagh inhabiting the Wasteland. The Dreamers is the title of a fantasy series by David Eddings and his wife Leigh Eddings. The story revolves around four beings known as The Elder Gods.

Author: Kazralmaran JoJogore
Country: Germany
Language: English (Spanish)
Genre: Technology
Published (Last): 8 January 2012
Pages: 401
PDF File Size: 9.64 Mb
ePub File Size: 6.73 Mb
ISBN: 945-3-26126-845-8
Downloads: 67223
Price: Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]
Uploader: Akikus

Picked it up last week when I was craving fantasy and enjoyed it more eddnigs I remembered. He was flushing the fuel tank of the car with water when he lit a piece of paper and threw into the puddle to test if it was still flammable. I love the elder thw charators and it really has a great seeting for the next 3 books.

Meanwhile, the combined Armies of Narasan, Sorgan, and Red-Beard, along with a group of farmers-turned-soldiers led by Omago face off against the minions of the Vlagh, who have evolved into three new forms.

This is a story about four eedings who are reaching the point when they have to hibernate and let their domain to a second generation, in a cycle that span the aeons.

A character finds something new from another character. I simply wasn’t engaged in the story. Actually I left the book without any clear-cut not What a piece of trash. It was great Fantasy Lite reading and I ate all six books up. View Full Version of PW. The only drawback comes from repeated conversations as one character will refer to a previous conversation in near exact detail just a few pages after it happened.

Other books in the series. But they begin to break though the mental barrier, starting daviid Balacenia, and realise who they are, but decide to keep it a secret.

Don’t let the other books spoil it.


The Redemption of Althalus. Each God, when awake, holds power over one of the Four Domains: I was hoping this book might be similar but I was disappointed. This book felt like a loose collection of leftovers from earlier works mashed together to try to make a cohesive story.

If it would have been any writer other than Eddings I would never have even finished the first book but I kept expecting it to get better. The Hills Have Spies. As for this book specifically I did like Longbow, but I think he would have been eddingd more interesting if he’d had more weaknesses than just wanting to kill the creatures of the Waste.

The Elder Gods (The Dreamers, #1) by David Eddings

I liked that each section began with a short biography of one of each of the characters, so that it felt like each section was sort of its own independent thread, which then wove into the fabric of the whole. Jan 13, Tina rated it did not like it Shelves: As unlikely as it seems, if this were the first Eddings book that someone had picked up, I’d like to think they’d enjoy it a lot.

And by killing Lillabeth, Enalla will be prevented from ever taking Aracia’s place again. Finally, a tornado of fire sweeps through crystal gorge, created by the Dreamers, destroying the servants of the Vlagh. Dhrall’s center is a wasteland under the control of That-Called-the-Vlagh, a dark, inhuman thing of vast patience, power and ambition.

Yaltar, the Dreamer of Veltan, foresees that the Vlagh would attack there and that there would be much killing on both sides. After the battle in Veltan’s domain, the important characters meet at Veltan’s home to discuss their next moves.

The Elder Gods

I was so excited to read this series, but after this first one, I won’t be picking up erdings rest. Retrieved from ” https: It’s no Belgariad, but still a good read.

It is also noteworthy that the book is told from the viewpoints of the various characters, but the primary story revolves around the Gods and their Dreamers. What a piece of trash. Like the Treasured one, it is divided into sections which give background information on a particular character, and summarizes the story from the first book to the present from the character’s point of view.


I have loved his previous series, but had an extremely hard time getting through this book. I actually enjoyed this book daavid lot more than I thought I would.

This page was last edited on 14 Augustat But the one place they never enter is The Wasteland: The Pink Grotto, by Geoff Taylor After the Vlagh’s first wave of minions were obliterated, the outlander armies moved north to the top of the ravine and built a fort to prevent the continuous coming of the servants.

While Eleria dreams up the flood, Rabbit and Kesselo are informed about the true nature of the gods, and what they really are, and told to keep it a secret from the other outlanders. Eddings likes ‘clever’ characters but some characters are to clever for their background Now, as the Elder Gods are about to transfer their power to the Younger Gods, the Vlagh plans to take advantage of their weakened state and neutralize them, eventually conquering the world.

To do so, it is breeding a terrible force borne of monsters and demons.

Dahlaine and his siblings hire human davix, who eventually meet the Vlagh’s forces in battle, but the dark armies prove unexpectedly resourceful. Yes, there is very clearly an Eddings “formula” for developing his story arcs. David Eddings is one of my favorite authors with the Belgariad and the Malloreon being at the top of my fantasy list.

There isn’t much imagination in Fantasy writing.